Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
Triple-A Affiliate
The Official Site of the Las Vegas Aviators Las Vegas Aviators

The Silver State Diamond Challenge presented by Nevada Donor Network

Silver State Diamond Challenge, presented by Nevada Donor Network: Reno vs. Las Vegas

LAS VEGAS: It's been more than a century since shots rang out between the north and south, but in 2009, the rivalry was resurrected in the form of home runs, strikeouts and RBIs as the Reno Aces and Las Vegas Aviators face off in Triple-A Pacific Coast League professional baseball play.

The Las Vegas Aviators and the Reno Aces developed the Silver State Diamond Challenge and accompanying trophy (Silver Plate Trophy) to add to the excitement of the intrastate rivalry each summer.

The inaugural season (2009) 16-game series was tied at 8-8. The tiebreaker was then decided by "draw of the cards" between then-Mayor Oscar Goodman (Las Vegas) and then-Mayor Bob Cashell (Reno). The two Mayors met at home plate at Aces Ballpark on October 5, 2009 and Goodman pulled a 7 and Cashell pulled a 6, thus, the then-51s captured the inaugural Silver State Diamond Challenge.

Reno then captured the 2010 season series against Las Vegas, 11-games-to-5. In 2011, the series was tied at 8-8, thus, the Aces retained the Silver Plate Trophy.

In 2012, the 16-game season series was tied 8-8, and Reno once again retained "The Trophy" for the third consecutive season. In 2013, Las Vegas won the season series against the Aces, 13-games-to-3, and captured the Silver Plate Trophy! In 2014, the season series was tied 8-8 and the then-51s retained "The Trophy" for the second consecutive season. In 2015, the then-51s won the season series against Reno, 11-games-to-5, and retained "The Trophy" for the third consecutive season. In 2016, Reno won the series 9-games-to-7 and re-captured "The Trophy." In 2017, Reno won the series 12-games-to-4 and retained "The Trophy" for the second straight season. In 2018, Las Vegas won the series 10-games-to-6 and re-captured "The Trophy." In 2019, the Aviators won the series 11-games-to-5 and retained "The Trophy" for the second straight season. In 2020, the Minor League Baseball season was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2021, in its 12th campaign in the S.S.D.C., the Aces won the series, 15-games-to-10 and re-captured "The Trophy."


2009: Las Vegas

2010: Reno

2011: Reno

2012: Reno

2013: Las Vegas

2014: Las Vegas

2015: Las Vegas

2016: Reno

2017: Reno

2018: Las Vegas

2019: Las Vegas

2020: Minor League Baseball season canceled due to COVID-19 pandemic

2021: Reno